Guam - Democrats elected to the 33rd Guam Legislature met this morning to discuss the leadership for the next year. According to Speaker Judi Won Pat's office, along with determining who would lead the democratic majority in terms of the speaker role, vice speaker, legislative secretary and majority leader, they also discussed what legislative committees each of the nine democrat winners would chair. All eight incumbents were elected along with newcomer Dr. Nerissa Underwood. A decision and announcement is expected by the end of the week.

Speaker-select Judith T. Won Pat

Vice-Speaker-select Benjamin J.F. Cruz

Senator Tina Rose Muna Barnes, Legislative Secretary-select and Asst. Majority Whip-select

Senator Rory J. Respicio, Majority Leader-select and Rules Chair-select

Senator Thomas C. Ada, Asst. Majority Leader-select

Senator Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr., Majority Whip-select


The following is the line-up for the incoming Committee Chairs:


Speaker Judith T. Won Pat: Committee on Higher Education, Culture, Public Libraries, and Women's Affairs


Vice-Speaker Benjamin J.F. Cruz: Committee on Appropriations and Adjudication


Senator Tina Rose Muna Barnes: Committee on Municipal Affairs, Tourism, and Housing


Senator Rory J. Respicio: Committee on Rules, Federal, Foreign & Micronesian Affairs, Human and Natural Resources, Election Reform and Capitol District


Senator Thomas C. Ada: Committee on Transportation, Infrastructure, Lands, Border Protection, Veterans' Affairs and Procurement


Senator Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.: Committee on Health, Economic Development, Homeland Security, and Senior Citizens


Senator Frank B. Aguon, Jr.: Committee on the Guam U.S. Military Relocation, Public Safety, and Judiciary


Senator Michael F.Q. San Nicolas: Committee on Government Operations and Youth Development


Senator-elect Nerissa Bretania Underwood: Committee on Early Learning, Education, and First Generation Initiatives